1. The Church of the Living God (Motto: Christian Workers for Fellowship) was organized 1889 at Wrightsville, Arkansas, by William Christian (b. Miss. 1856; d. Memphis, Tennessee, 1928), who claimed a divine call to create the office of chief. He held that Freemasonry has the true mode of religion, called his group an organism known as operative Masonry with baptism, Holy Supper, and foot washing as its first three corporal degrees. Other features include tithing and believer's baptism by immersion; chs. are called temples.
2. In 1919 a group seceded from the Church of the Living God, largely because of differences regarding management, and adopted the name House of God, Which Is the Church of the Living God, the Pillar and Ground of the Truth, Inc.
See also Holiness Churches, 2.
Edited by: Erwin L. Lueker, Luther Poellot, Paul Jackson
©Concordia Publishing House, 2000, All rights Reserved. Reproduced with Permission
Internet Version Produced by
The Lutheran Church--Missouri Synod
Original Editions ©Copyright 1954, 1975, 2000
Concordia Publishing House
All rights reserved.
Content Reproduced with Permission